Driving School Requirements
For retention purposes, our driving school recommends students be 15 years of age or older when beginning the classroom portion of drivers education. A student may attend class as early as 14 1/2 years of age with administrative permission. With the new Wisconsin laws, students now need to hold their instruction permit for 6 months to be eligible for their license. If BTW students take the classroom at another school or online, authorization codes from the other school must be provided and a contract signed before we will issue a MV3001 form to get the learners permit.
We offer temporary drivers license (temps) testing onsite in our classroom. This means less time spent at the DMV when obtaining your permit. We will hold a student's MV3001 form until we are advised the student is 15-1/2, at which time the form will be mailed or available for pickup at our office. The 1st behind the wheel lesson must take place within 60 days of the date the driver license application is signed by the school. We generally are completely booked 2-3 weeks in advance so schedule the 1st lesson as soon as you get temps is our recommendation.
Wisconsin Probationary License Requirements
- Complete an approved driver education class.
- Accumulate 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience. Ten (10) of the 30 hours must be at night. Up to 5 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience with a qualified instructor may be double counted. For example, 3 hours will count as 6 hours.
- A parent or adult sponsor must certify the completion of 30 hours (10 at night) of driving experience on the driver license application.
- Hold an instructional permit for a minimum of 6 months.
- There must be a minimum of 19 days between the 1st and 6th driving lessons. One of these drive times must occur within the first 60 days of holding a valid Wisconsin instructional permit.(The first driving lesson must occur within 60 days of obtaining the instructional permit application from the driving school. Failure to comply with this DOT requirement will result in cancellation of the permit if issued and it no longer be valid for driving (See FAQ section as well)
- Receive no moving traffic violations resulting in a conviction for the six months prior to the date of application for this license.
- Pass a driving skills test.
- Pay the required fees.
Wisconsin Probationary License Restrictions
If a student is under 18, for the first nine months of holding the probationary license the student may drive but with the following restrictions:
- From 5 AM to midnight, a student may drive alone and travel anywhere. In addition, any number of immediate family members (including legal guardian) and the following people can be passengers:
From midnight to 5 AM and if driving between home, school, and/or work, a student may drive alone. In addition, a student can have the same passengers as listed in number one above. If driving anywhere else, students must have one of the following people in the vehicle:
- Two people, one of which must hold a valid regular (non-probationary) license with at least 2 years driving experience, and one who is a person 21 or older or a qualified instructor or spouse 19 or older.
Restrictions will be extended 6 months if the student does any of the following:
- a parent or guardian
- any number of immediate family members and one other person.
- one person who holds a valid regular (non-probationary) license with 2 years of licensed driving experience and one person who is a person 21 or older, a spouse 19 or older, or a qualified instructor 19 or older.
- is convicted of a moving traffic violation
- violates any of the restrictions
- has license revoked or suspended for any reason
Note: The terms of the passenger and time-of-day restriction stops while any operating privilege is suspended or revoked. It resumes again when the operating privilege is reinstated.
If you have questions about the Wisconsin Graduated Driver License, check out the Wisconsin DOT website, email Wisconsin DMV or call 608-266-2353.
link for road test waiver:
DMV created two pilot programs and enhanced safety features in DMV Customer Service Centers to safely provide needed services and help keep everyone safe. DMV will announce the following new pilots to the public on May 5: · The first pilot program is a road test waiver for 16-17 year old drivers who successfully completed an approved Driver Education Program, including Behind-the-Wheel. Beginning May 11, those under 18 years may be eligible to have their road test waived if their parent or guardian agrees. · The second pilot program allows eligible drivers to renew their driver license online and receive their new card in the mail. Please visit wisconsindmv.gov/renewDL for more information Who qualifies? Any person 16 or 17 years of age who: o Successfully completed an approved Driver Training Education Course o Held instruction permit for a minimum of 6 months o Successfully completed Behind-the-Wheel o Have parent or guardian sign the waiver to receive the road test waiver · Who does not qualify? o Any person 18 years of age or older o Any person who has not successfully completed an approved Driver Training Education Course o Any person who has not completed Behind-the-Wheel o Any person who has previously failed a road test o Any person whose sponsor does not agree to having the road test waived · How to apply o Driver Training Schools will submit student records as normal. DMV records will show completion status of the Driver Training Education course and Behind-the-Wheel o Students who meet the requirements should apply online through the road test waiver page wisconsindmv.gov/testwaiver o Normal fees apply o Sponsor (parent or guardian) will acknowledge full responsibility and sign waiver o DMV will convert license status from Instruction Permit to Probationary License § PDF copy of new probationary license card is emailed for immediate use § The driver should receive the physical Probationary License card via mail in 7-10 days § Driver should print pdf if possible, or present email to Law Enforcement if necessary until physical card arrives · About the waiver o Parent or guardian agrees to accept responsibility and vouch for the safe driving abilities of the new student o Parent or guardian will sign electronic agreement o The parent's or guardian's driver license or ID card number will be entered into the online system and they will receive verification that our records indicate they approved the road test waiver
Dmv Changes 5/5/2020
Leter To Reps
Open Roads contract agreement
WPDSA STUDENT MANUAL
impaired BTW instruction
BTW instruction for disabled or impaired-https://adaptivedrivingllc.com/contact-us-2
WI State Resources
ABATE of Wisconsin
Acceptable Documents for Proof of Identity
Becoming an Organ Donor
Child Safety Seat Requirements
Class D Road Test Study Guide
DMV Supervised Driving Log
GDL Requirements & Restrictions
MV 3001 Form
Practice Test Mobile App
Schedule a Road Test
Wisconsin Motorists Handbook
All online students must complete and return a completed contract. The contract will reflect the electronic online contract students/parents agree to prior to completing registration online. Download the contract.
Hybrid classroom students will be given a contract to complete and return the first day of the in-person classroom.